Hot Club Jazz
Reinhardt / Stern / Porter / Schneeberger
Benjamin Schmid Quartet feat.Diknu Schneeberger

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Releasedate: 15.12.2014

Item is in stock.

€ 17.90


Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3

 

Hot Club Jazz

Hot Club Jazz! Violinist Benjamin Schmid and rising star Diknu Schneeberger, guitar, tracing Stephane Grappelli and Django Reinhardt - from the 1930s on, Hot Club defines a jazz band consisting soleley of stringed instruments, which constituted a novelty at the time. In collaboration with his father Joschi Schneeberger, double bass, and renowned Viennese jazz guitarist Martin Spitzer, the quartet interprets pieces and arrangements by Django Reinhardt, works created in succession by Lulu Reinhardt, Cole Porter or Fletcher Allen as well as arrangements of French chansons. The easy-going interplay captivates with its precision, joy in music and spontaneity.

Benjamin Schmid
The Carl Flesch Competition in London in 1992, at which he was also awarded the Mozart, the Beethoven and the Audience Prizes, brought about, besides other competition prizes, the international breakthrough for the Vienna-born violinist Benjamin Schmid. Since then, he has held guest appearances in all the major concert houses throughout the world with such famous orchestras as the Vienna Philharmonic, the London Philharmonia, the Saint Petersburg Philharmonic, the Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam, the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zurich or the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. His qualities as a soloist, the enormous range of his repertoire - besides the standard works, also the violin concertos by e.g. György Ligeti, Friedrich Gulda, Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Christian Muthspiel, Kurt Weill, Witold Lutoslawski as well as jazz violin concertos - and above all his unique talent in jazz improvisation make him a violinist with an unmistakable profile.

Diknu Schneeberger, born in Vienna on 17 January 1990, is an exceptional talent, a rising star on the heaven of guitarists. If we were already enthusiastic about the young guitarist's virtuosity in his debut album Rubina, we can only be astounded by the young Gypsy Jazz freak in The Spirit of Django. Diknu combines perfect technique with easy-going playfulness and natural musicality and a feeling for melody with virtuosity. Here and there, he adds Latin-oriented sounds and licks, which makes his gypsy sound extremely sympathetic.

Martin Spitzer, born in Vienna in 1965, ranks as one of the most renowned Austrian jazz guitarists. He enthrals his audiences with stylistic diversity, tasteful accompaniment and dynamic phrasing. His musical spectrum ranges from early swing à la Django Reinhardt over modern jazz up to Latin, funk and soul. He acts out this flexibility in many bands and projects such as the 'Diknu Schneeberger Trio', 'Jazzklusiv', 'Yta Moreno Group', 'Benjamin Schmid Jazz Quartet', 'Joschi Schneeberger Sextett', 'Paul Fields' Gipsy Project', 'Herbert Swoboda Quintett' and many others.

Joschi Schneeberger, a double bass player born in Vienna in 1957, began his career as a self-taught performer and is today considered one of the most coveted and experienced double bass players on the Austrian jazz scene. He has made television and radio recordings with the Zipflo Weinrich Ensemble, Elly Wright and Band, Lady »P« and Friends, the Vienna String Quartet, the Wolfgang Wehner Trio, Swinging Jazz-Gitti, Harri Stojka and Band, the Diknu Schneeberger Trio and the Joschi Schneeberger Trio. In 1999, he founded his own trio with Karl Hodina and Striglo Stöger, and since 2007 the Joschi Schneeberger Sextet has appeared with Karl Hodina, Aaron Wonesch, his son Diknu Schneeberger, Martin Spitzer and Toni Mühlhofer.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Lulu's Swing 4:21   0.99€
2 Viper's Dream 3:53   0.99€
3 Babik 2:48   0.99€
4 Ou est-tu mon amour? 4:43   0.99€
5 Minor Blues 3:28   0.99€
6 What is This Thing Called Love 3:29   0.99€
7 My Serenade 3:29   0.99€
8 Douce Ambiance 3:57   0.99€
9 Si tu savais 4:59   1.59€
10 Made for Wesley 4:25   0.99€
11 Blue Drag 4:30   0.99€
12 Belleville 3:41   0.99€
13 Limehouse Blues 3:59   0.99€
14 Swing 42 3:58   0.99€
15 Gipsy Fire 3:59   0.99€
16 Seavas Koarl 6:19   1.59€
17 R-Vingt-Six 3:54   0.99€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Error: [error.MicroContentNotValid]

Hot Club Jazz
Reinhardt / Stern / Porter / Schneeberger
Benjamin Schmid Quartet feat.Diknu Schneeberger

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Veröffentlichungsdatum: 15.12.2014

Artikel ist sofort lieferbar.

€ 17,90


Download: 14,99 € WAV
Download: 9,99 € MP3

 

Hot Club Jazz

Hot Club Jazz!
Benjamin Schmid, soeben als All-Star Geiger des 20. Jahrhunderts ausgezeichnet, und Nachwuchsstar Diknu Schneeberger, Gitarre, auf den Spuren von Stephane Grappelli und Django Reinhardt - die Bezeichnung «Hot Club» entstand in den 1930er Jahren als Synonym für die damals neuartige, ausschließlich aus Saiteninstrumenten bestehende Besetzung. Gemeinsam mit Vater Joschi Schneeberger am Bass und dem renommierten Wiener Jazzgitarristen Martin Spitzer interpretiert das Quartett neben originalen Werken und Bearbeitungen Django Reinhardts auch in weiterer Folge entstandene Titel, wie von Lulu Reinhardt, Cole Porter, oder Fletcher Allen, aber auch Arrangements französischer Chansons. Das lockere Zusammenspiel besticht durch Präzision, Spielfreude und Spontaneität.

Benjamin Schmid, aus Wien stammend, gewann u.a. 1992 den Carl-Flesch Wettbewerb in London, wo er auch den Mozart-, Beethoven- und Publikumspreis errang. Seither gastiert er auf den wichtigsten Bühnen der Welt mit nahmhaften Orchestern wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, Philharmonia Orchestra London, Petersburger Philharmoniker, Concertgebouw Orchester Amsterdam, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra oder Tonhalle Orchester Zürich unter Dirigenten wie Dohnányi, Zinman, Ozawa, Sondergard, Gergiev oder Metzmacher. Seine solistische Qualität, die außerordentliche Bandbreite seines Repertoires - neben den üblichen Werken etwa auch die Violinkonzerte von Hartmann, Gulda, Korngold, Muthspiel, Szymanowski, Weill, Lutoslawski oder Schönberg - und insbesondere auch seine improvisatorischen Fähigkeiten im Jazz machen ihn zu einem Geiger mit unvergleichlichem Profil.

Diknu Schneeberger, geb. am 17. Jänner 1990 in Wien, ist ein absolutes Ausnahmetalent, ein aufgehender Stern am Gitarristenhimmel. Wenn man bei seinem Debutalbum »Rubina« schon begeistert war über die Virtuosität des jungen Gitarristen, so kann man bei »The Spirit Of Django« über den jungen Gypsy Jazz Freak nur noch staunen. Diknu verbindet perfekte Technik mit lockerer Verspieltheit, natürliche Musikalität und Melodiegefühl mit Virtuosität. Er fügt hie und da leichte Latin-orientierte Sounds und Licks ein, was seinen Gypsy-Sound extrem sympathisch macht.

Martin Spitzer, 1965 in Wien geboren, zählt zu den renommiertesten österreichischen Jazzgitarristen. Er begeistert durch stilistische Vielfalt, geschmackvolle Begleitung und dynamische Phrasierung. Sein musikalisches Spektrum reicht vom frühen Swing à la Django Reinhardt über modernen Jazz bis hin zu Latin, Funk und Soul. Diese Vielseitigkeit lebt er in zahlreichen Bands und Projekten wie dem »Diknu Schneeberger Trio«, »Jazzklusiv«, »Yta Moreno Group«, »Benjamin Schmid Jazz Quartett«, »Joschi Schneeberger Sextett«, »Paul Fields' Gipsy Project«, »Herbert Swoboda Quintett« und vielen anderen aus.

Joschi Schneeberger, Kontrabass, 1957 in Wien geboren, begann seine Laufbahn als Autodidakt und gilt heute als einer der gefragtesten und versiertesten Bassisten der österreichischen Jazzszene. Fernseh- und Rundfunkaufnahmen entstanden mit dem Zipflo Weinrich Ensemble, Elly Wright und Band, Lady »P« und Friends, dem Vienna String Quartet, dem Wolfgang Wehner Trio, Swinging Jazz-Gitti, Harri Stojka und Band, dem Diknu Schneeberger Trio und dem Joschi Schneeberger Trio. 1999 gründete er sein eigenes Trio mit Karl Hodina und Striglo Stöger, seit 2007 tritt das Joschi Schneeberger Sextett mit Karl Hodina, Aaron Wonesch, seinem Sohn Diknu Schneeberger, Martin Spitzer und Toni Mühlhofer auf.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Lulu's Swing 4:21   0,99€
2 Viper's Dream 3:53   0,99€
3 Babik 2:48   0,99€
4 Ou est-tu mon amour? 4:43   0,99€
5 Minor Blues 3:28   0,99€
6 What is This Thing Called Love 3:29   0,99€
7 My Serenade 3:29   0,99€
8 Douce Ambiance 3:57   0,99€
9 Si tu savais 4:59   1,59€
10 Made for Wesley 4:25   0,99€
11 Blue Drag 4:30   0,99€
12 Belleville 3:41   0,99€
13 Limehouse Blues 3:59   0,99€
14 Swing 42 3:58   0,99€
15 Gipsy Fire 3:59   0,99€
16 Seavas Koarl 6:19   1,59€
17 R-Vingt-Six 3:54   0,99€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label der Woche