Die letzte Blaue
Walter Arlen
Daniel Hope / Rebecca Nelsen / Wnukowski / Immler

GRAMOLA, 2 CD

Releasedate: 01.09.2014

Item is in stock.

€ 21.90


Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3

 

Die letzte Blaue

The disaster of the extinction of culture and civil society by the Nazi regime, intensified by his own dismay and enforced exile, constitutes the basis of Walter Arlen's compositional oeuvre. This downfall is symbolized by Die letzte Blaue, the name of the last night-time tram of Vienna Transport, identifiable by its blue light, and a homage to an unforgettable hit of the time. Apart from works like this one for piano solo (Monotypes, Mementos), this double CD by the Polish-Canadian pianist Daniel Wnukowski also contains works for piano and violin (Daniel Hope) and songs for soprano (Rebecca Nelsen) and baritone (Christian Immler). A unique feature is the three-part work ARBEIT MACHT FREI for piano and metronome, which was written in 1995 after a visit to the former extermination camp of Auschwitz.

Polish-Canadian pianist Daniel Wnukowski was trained at the Lake Como International Piano Academy in Italy where he worked with distinguished artists such as Dmitri Bashkirov, Menahem Pressler, Claude Frank, and William Grant Naboré, at the Peabody Institute of Baltimore under the guidance of Leon Fleisher and at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London with Graham Johnson and Ronan O'Hora. He has performed throughout Europe, North America, South America and Asia in prestigious concert halls with many orchestras, including the Polish Radio Orchestra, Sinfonia Varsovia, Windsor Symphony and Southfield Symphony with conducters such as Jerzy Maksymiuk, Alain Trudel and David Amos. He has also performed in numerous International Festivals such as «Chopin and His Europe» in Warsaw, Poland; Festival Dei Due Mondi in Spoleto, Italy; Chopiniana in Buenos Aires, Argentina; and the Pre-LSO Concert Series in London, UK.

British violinist Daniel Hope has toured the world as a virtuoso soloist for more than twenty years. He is renowned for his musical versatility and creativity and for his dedication to humanitarian causes. Daniel Hope, an exclusive Deutsche Grammophon artist, has earned numerous Grammy nominations, a Classical BRIT award, the Deutsche Schallplattenpreis and six ECHO Klassik Prizes. He regularly directs chamber orchestras as violin soloist with ensembles including the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Camerata Salzburg, and Lucerne Festival Strings. He has performed at the world's most renowned festivals, such as the BBC Proms, Hollywood Bowl and the Lucerne, Ravinia, Salzburg, Schleswig-Holstein, and Tanglewood festivals. Daniel Hope resides in Vienna, Austria, and has also published three bestselling books.

The German baritone Christian Immler is currently one of the singers of his discipline most in demand. Together with Helmut Deutsch, he recently recorded his first solo CD Modern Times, which has just been awarded the 'Diapason Découverte'. Christian Immler studied with Prof. Rudolf Piernay at the London Guildhall School. In 2001, he was awarded the first prize at the Nadia and Lili Boulanger Competition in Paris. A keen recitalist, Immler has a particular interest in 20th Century 'Emigré Composers' and has appeared at the Wigmore Hall, the Royal Festival Hall, the Tonhalle in Zurich, the Mozarteum in Salzburg and the Frick Collection in New York. Invitations to major festivals like Salzburg, Lucerne, Vancouver, the BBC Proms, Bergen and Davos followed. More than 30 award-winning recordings with a repertoire extending from Monteverdi to Zemlinsky for Decca, Naïve, Virgin Classics, Bis, Avi, Alpha, Brilliant Classics and Harmonia Mundi testify to his work. Christian Immler is a professor of singing at the Music Academy in Lausanne/Fribourg.

After studies at Vienna's University of Music and the Performing Arts on a Fulbright scholarship, Texan soprano Rebecca Nelsen's career was launched with critically acclaimed performances with the Neue Oper Wien. Ms. Nelsen's career has led her to other important guest engagements in internationally acclaimed houses and festivals including principal roles at the Bavarian State Opera, Aalto Theater Essen, Semperoper Dresden, Oper Köln, Teatro La Fenice, Garsington Opera, the Bregenzer Festspiele and the prestigious Munich Biennale. She is an active recording artist and has CDs out with the ORF Label, Oehms Classics, with the CPO Label, and with the Gramola Label (Walter Arlen Songs). Ms. Nelsen is currently an ensemble member at the Wiener Volksoper.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Altes Lied 4:00   0.99€
2 Humoreske 2:30   0.99€
3 Sonnet 4:42   0.99€
4 Monotypes 1. Preludio Capriccioso 3:21   0.99€
5 Monotypes 2. I Want a House 3:59   0.99€
6 Monotypes 3. Iturbiana 4:20   0.99€
7 Monotypes 4. Saudades do Milhaud 2:37   0.99€
8 Fragments from The Song of Songs 1. Preliminar… 2:46   0.99€
9 Fragments from The Song of Songs 2. Canticle 4:36   0.99€
10 Houses of Worship 1. Sine nomine 4:12   0.99€
11 Houses of Worship 2. The Isaiah of Souillac 4:52   0.99€
12 Arbeit macht frei 1. Psalm 4:28   0.99€
13 Arbeit macht frei 2. Metronome 1:55   0.99€
14 Arbeit macht frei 3. Schlummerlied 5:03   1.59€
2 1 Septet 1. The Garden 3:33   0.99€
2 Septet 2. Summer Night 3:00   0.99€
3 Septet 3. Evening in the Forest 4:16   0.99€
4 Septet 4. November 4:20   0.99€
5 Septet 5. Reflections 4:04   0.99€
6 Septet 6. Meaning 3:15   0.99€
7 Septet 7. After Magritte 4:43   0.99€
8 Mementos 1. Marienbad 5:46   1.59€
9 Mementos 2. The Grass Harp 5:55   1.59€
10 Wenn die letzte Blaue geht 3:41   0.99€
11 Die letzte Blaue - Fantasy for Piano 5:14   1.59€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label of the month

Die letzte Blaue
Walter Arlen
Daniel Hope / Rebecca Nelsen / Wnukowski / Immler

GRAMOLA, 2 CD

Veröffentlichungsdatum: 01.09.2014

Artikel ist sofort lieferbar.

€ 21,90


Download: 14,99 € WAV
Download: 9,99 € MP3

 

Die letzte Blaue

Die Katastrophe der Auslöschung von Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft durch die NS-Herrschaft stellt - verstärkt durch die eigene Betroffenheit und folgende Zwangsmigration - die Grundlage des kompositorischen Schaffens Walter Arlens dar. Sinnbildlich für diesen Niedergang steht Die letzte Blaue, so der Name der letzten nächtlichen, an ihrem blauen Licht erkennbaren Straßenbahn der Wiener Linien, und einer Hommage an einen unvergänglichen Schlager jener Zeiten. Neben Werken wie diesem für Klavier solo (Monotypes, Mementos) finden sich auf dieser Doppel-CD des polnisch-kanadischen Pianisten Daniel Wnukowski auch Werke für Klavier und Violine (Daniel Hope) und Lieder für Sopran (Rebecca Nelsen) als auch Bariton (Christian Immler). Eine Besonderheit bietet das dreiteilige Werk ARBEIT MACHT FREI für Klavier und Metronom, das 1995 nach einem Besuch des ehemaligen Vernichtungslagers Auschwitz entstand.

Der polnisch-kanadische Pianist Daniel Wnukowski studierte an der Lake Como International Piano Academy in Italien, wo er mit bedeutenden Künstlern wie Dmitri Baschkirow, Menahem Pressler, Claude Frank und William Grant Naboré arbeitete, am Peabody Institute of Baltimore unter der Anleitung von Leon Fleisher und an der Londoner Guildhall School of Music and Drama bei Graham Johnson und Ronan O'Hara. Er trat in Europa, Nord- und Südamerika sowie Asien in renommierten Konzertsälen mit vielen Orchestern auf, darunter das Polnische Radiosymphonieorchester, die Sinfonia Varsovia, die Windsor Symphony und die Southfield Symphony unter Dirigenten wie Jerzy Maksymiuk, Alain Trudel and David Amos geleitet. Er konzertierte auch bei vielen internationalen Festivals wie »Chopin und sein Europa« in Warschau, dem Festival dei Due Mondi in Spoleto, bei den Chopiniana in Buenos Aires und bei den Pre-LSO Concert Series in London.

Der britische Geiger Daniel Hope ist als virtuoser Solist seit über zwanzig Jahren in der ganzen Welt unterwegs. Er ist sowohl für seine musikalische Vielseitigkeit und Kreativität als auch für sein humanitäres Engagement berühmt. Daniel Hope, exklusiv bei der Deutschen Grammophon unter Vertrag, wurde vielfach für den Grammy nominiert, errang den Classical BRIT Award, den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik und sechs ECHO-Klassik-Preise. Als Solist leitet Hope regelmäßig Kammerorchester - darunter das Chamber Orchestra of Europe, die Camerata Salzburg und die Lucerne Festival Strings. Er trat bei den wichtigsten Festivals auf, so bei den BBC Proms, in der Hollywood Bowl und bei den Festspielen von Luzern, Ravinia (Illinois), Salzburg, Schleswig-Holstein und Tanglewood (Massachusetts). Daniel Hope lebt in Wien und hat drei Bücher veröffentlicht, die zu Bestsellern wurden.

Der deutsche Bariton Christian Immler ist derzeit einer der gefragtesten Sänger seines Fachs. Mit Helmut Deutsch hat er vor kurzem seine erste Solo-CD Modern Times aufgenommen, die soeben mit dem ,Diapason Découverte' ausgezeichnet wurde. Christian Immler studierte an der Londoner Guildhall School bei Prof. Rudolf Piernay. 2001 erhielt er den ersten Preis des Wettbewerbs Nadia et Lili Boulanger in Paris. Als leidenschaftlicher Liedsanger war Christian Immler Gast der Wigmore Hall, der Royal Festival Hall, der Tonhalle in Zürich, dem Mozarteum in Salzburg und der Frick Collection New York. Einladungen zu wichtigen Festivals wie Salzburg, Luzern, Vancouver, BBC Proms, Bergen und Davos folgten. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt den Werken vertriebener Komponisten. Mehr als 30 vielfach preisgekronte Aufnahmen mit Repertoire von Monteverdi bis Zemlinsky fur Decca, Naive, Virgin Classics, Bis, Avi, Alpha, Sony Classical und Brilliant Classics belegen seine Arbeit. Christian Immler ist Professor für Gesang an der Musikhochschule Lausanne/Fribourg.

Nach ihren durch ein Fulbright-Stipendium ermöglichten Studien an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien begann die Karriere der texanischen Sopranistin Rebecca Nelsen mit von der Kritik akklamierten Auftritten an der Neuen Oper Wien.Weitere wichtige Auftritte folgten an bedeutenden Häusern und bei Festivals wie der Bayerischen Staatsoper, dem Aalto Theater Essen, der Semperoper Dresden, der Oper Köln, dem Teatro La Fenice, der Garsington Opera in England, den Bregenzer Festspielen und der Münchener Biennale. CD-Einspielungen erfolgten u.a. für den ORF, Oehms Classics, CPO und Gramola. Rebecca Nelsen ist derzeit Ensemblemitglied der Wiener Volksoper.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Altes Lied 4:00   0,99€
2 Humoreske 2:30   0,99€
3 Sonnet 4:42   0,99€
4 Monotypes 1. Preludio Capriccioso 3:21   0,99€
5 Monotypes 2. I Want a House 3:59   0,99€
6 Monotypes 3. Iturbiana 4:20   0,99€
7 Monotypes 4. Saudades do Milhaud 2:37   0,99€
8 Fragments from The Song of Songs 1. Preliminar… 2:46   0,99€
9 Fragments from The Song of Songs 2. Canticle 4:36   0,99€
10 Houses of Worship 1. Sine nomine 4:12   0,99€
11 Houses of Worship 2. The Isaiah of Souillac 4:52   0,99€
12 Arbeit macht frei 1. Psalm 4:28   0,99€
13 Arbeit macht frei 2. Metronome 1:55   0,99€
14 Arbeit macht frei 3. Schlummerlied 5:03   1,59€
2 1 Septet 1. The Garden 3:33   0,99€
2 Septet 2. Summer Night 3:00   0,99€
3 Septet 3. Evening in the Forest 4:16   0,99€
4 Septet 4. November 4:20   0,99€
5 Septet 5. Reflections 4:04   0,99€
6 Septet 6. Meaning 3:15   0,99€
7 Septet 7. After Magritte 4:43   0,99€
8 Mementos 1. Marienbad 5:46   1,59€
9 Mementos 2. The Grass Harp 5:55   1,59€
10 Wenn die letzte Blaue geht 3:41   0,99€
11 Die letzte Blaue - Fantasy for Piano 5:14   1,59€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Error: [error.MicroContentNotValid]