Streichquartett,Streichquintett
Carl Goldmark
Haydn Quartett / Rudolf Leopold

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Releasedate: 30.04.2015

Item is in stock.

€ 17.90


Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3

 

Streichquartett,Streichquintett

Carl Goldmark, Jewish composer of Hungaro-Austrian descent, practically never in his youth received comprehensive musical training, which may be why he only at the age of 30, around the year 1860, gained public attention as a composer with his string quartet Op. 8. Foregone has a period of intense self-study of counterpoint and works by Bach and Beethoven. Two years later, Goldmarks string quintet Op. 9 premiered, though being thought of as too bold for the taste of the audience, hence its performance was refused by Ferdinand David, concert master of the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig, after having made some unpleasant experiences with the string sextet by Brahms. The Haydn Quartet, for more than 20 years «quartet in residence» in Esterhazy Palace in Eisenstadt, is being supported by outstanding cellist and professor Rudolph Leopold.

From its seat in the castle, the Haydn Quartet with Fritz Kircher, Martin Kocsis, Gerswind Olthoff and Nikolai New undertake extended tours in nearly every country of Europe as well as in Asia and America. The Quartet has played in Carnegie Hall in New York and has performed several times in the famous National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing. On its frequent Far East tours it has given concerts in, among other places, Shenzhen, Hong Kong, at the Macau Festival and most recently at the Music Conservatory in Beijing where its members also gave master classes. On the occasion of the Haydn Jubilee Year in 2009, the quartet held a cycle of 18 concerts in the Imperial Church of St. Michael in Vienna with all 69 string quartets by Joseph Haydn. Among its CDs are performances with the cellist Rudolf Leopold and the soprano Cornelia Horak. Live recordings by the musicians have included for the radio stations Bartók Rádió (Hungary), ORF, NDR, Zagreb, Beijing and Macao. In recent years, the Haydn Quartet has increasingly devoted itself to contemporary music, giving composer-portraits and first performances in collaboration with, among others, Austrian Radio. In 2012, recording of the String Quartet No. 1 by Daniel Smutny on the invitation of the German Music Council.

Born in Vienna, Rudolf Leopold studied violoncello, piano and composition at the local Academy of Music and Performing Arts. As he has been a member of the legendary Vienna String Sextet for 25 years, he still gives the field of chamber music top priority. He is also still a solo cellist in Nikolaus Harnoncourt's «Concentus Musicus». Rudolf Leopold used to lecture on chamber music at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna and since 1990, he became full professor for violoncello at the University of Music and Performing Arts, Graz.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1   Streichquartett B-Dur op. 8     2.39€  
1     1. Andante - Allegro moderato 10:13    
2 2. Andante sostenuto 9:51   1.59€
3 3. Allegro vivace 3:02   0.99€
4 4. Allegro molto 7:56   1.59€
  Strecihquintett a-Moll op. 9     3.19€  
5     1. Allegro molto 16:01    
6 2. Andante con moto 8:33   1.59€
7 3. Allegro molto 4:16   0.99€
8 4. Andante maestoso - Allegro 9:09   1.59€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label of the month

Streichquartett,Streichquintett
Carl Goldmark
Haydn Quartett / Rudolf Leopold

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Veröffentlichungsdatum: 30.04.2015

Artikel ist sofort lieferbar.

€ 17,90


Download: 14,99 € WAV
Download: 9,99 € MP3

 

Streichquartett,Streichquintett

Carl Goldmark, jüdischer Komponist österreichisch-ungarischer Abstammung, genoss in seiner Jugend praktisch keine umfassende musikalische Ausbildung, und erreichte »erst» 30-jährig, um das Jahr 1860 herum, mit seinem Streichquartett op. 8 öffentliche Anerkennung. Vorausgegangen war ein intensives Selbststudium des Kontrapunktes und Werken von Bach und Beethoven. Zwei Jahre später erfolgte die Uraufführung seines Streichquintetts op. 9, das offensichtlich für den damaligen Geschmack zu kühn erschien und dem so von Ferdinand David, Konzertmeister des Leipziger Gewandhausorchesters, nach unangenehmen Erfahrungen mit Brahms 2. Sextett die Aufführung verweigert wurde. Das Haydn Quartett, seit über 20 Jahren »Ensemble in Residence» auf Schloss Estherhazy in Eisenstadt, erfährt durch den Violoncellisten und Professor Rudolph Leopold hochkarätige Unterstützung.


Das Haydn Quartett mit Fritz Kircher, Martin Kocsis, Gerswind Olthoff und Nikolai New unternimmt von seinem Stammsitz aus ausgedehnte Tourneen in fast alle Länder Europas sowie nach Asien und Amerika. Auftritte erfolgten u. a. in der Carnegie Hall, New York, und beim Schleswig-Holstein Festival, außerdem mehrfach in das National Center of Arts in Peking. Weitere Fernost-Tourneen führten das Quartett u. a. nach Bangkok, Shenzhen, Hongkong und zum Macao Festival sowie wieder nach Peking, wo es zuletzt auch Quartett-Meisterkurse im Central Conservatory of Music hielt. Anlässlich des Haydnjahres 2009 bestritt das Quartett einen Zyklus von 18 Konzerten in der Wiener Kaiserkirche St. Michael mit allen 69 Streichquartetten Joseph Haydns. Zusammenarbeit und CD-Produktionen mit Rudolf Leopold und Cornelia Horak. Live-Aufnahmen der Musiker u. a. für die Rundfunkanstalten Bartók Rádió (Ungarn), ORF, NDR, von Zagreb, Peking und Macao. In den letzten Jahren widmet sich das Haydn Quartett auch zunehmend der zeitgenössischen Musik. Laufend Komponistenportraits und Uraufführungen u. a. in Zusammenarbeit mit dem österreichischen Rundfunk. 2012 Einspielung des Streichquartetts Nr. 1 von Daniel Smutny auf Einladung des Deutschen Musikrates.

Rudolf Leopold wurde in Wien geboren und studierte an der dortigen Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst Cello, daneben Klavier und Komposition. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Kammermusik, er war 25 Jahre Mitglied im legendären »Wiener Streichsextett« und spielt bis heute als Solocellist in Nikolaus Harnoncourts »Concentus Musicus«.
Rudolf Leopold unterrichtete Kammermusik an der Wiener Musikhochschule; seit 1990 hat er eine ordentliche Professur für Violoncello an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz inne.
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1   Streichquartett B-Dur op. 8     2,39€  
1     1. Andante - Allegro moderato 10:13    
2 2. Andante sostenuto 9:51   1,59€
3 3. Allegro vivace 3:02   0,99€
4 4. Allegro molto 7:56   1,59€
  Strecihquintett a-Moll op. 9     3,19€  
5     1. Allegro molto 16:01    
6 2. Andante con moto 8:33   1,59€
7 3. Allegro molto 4:16   0,99€
8 4. Andante maestoso - Allegro 9:09   1,59€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label der Woche