Fantasie KV 475, 397/Sonate KV 457, 576
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Paul Badura-Skoda

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Releasedate: 01.06.2014

Item is in stock.

€ 17.90


Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3

 

Fantasie KV 475, 397/Sonate KV 457, 576

The second part of the latest Mozart trilogy by the pianist and honorary doctor Paul Badura-Skoda on the period fortepiano by Anton Walter (1790) is entirely characterized by tragedy. Apparently separated from the pinnacle of his outward success in Vienna (around 1784), the Sonata in C minor KV 457, composed the same year, heralds a new era in Mozart's life, the inner and outer tragedy that led to him finally dying in squalor. The sequence of tragic minor works by Mozart during his years in Vienna, which concluded with the unfinished Requiem of 1791, also includes the Fantasias in C minor KV 475 and D minor KV 397 as well as the subdued and moving Adagio in B minor: lamenting, menacing, but also, in the manner typical of Mozart, glorifying and reconciliatory notes - laughing amongst tears. His last Piano Sonata in D major, by contrast, links cheerful elegance to polyphonic structural depth and outshines the previous gloom like a satyr play.

Paul Badura-Skoda
First place in the Austrian Music Competition in 1947 meant the beginning of his career. His teacher was Edwin Fischer. Since 1949, he has performed with major conductors such as Wilhelm Furtwängler and Herbert von Karajan. Major tours as a soloist followed: Australia in 1952, USA - Canada in 1952/53, Latin America from Mexico to Argentina in 1953, and in 1956 he conducted a chamber orchestra of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra on a tour of Italy.
Further highlights in his career were his first tour of Japan, where he appeared in Tokyo alone 14 times, and the first, highly successful tour through the Soviet Union in 1964, which was followed by many other tours. In 1979, Paul Badura-Skoda was the first Western pianist to perform in China after the Cultural Revolution. In the Mozart jubilee year 1991, he played the cycle of all Mozart's sonatas in Paris, Vienna, Munich, Madrid, Tokyo, Hong Kong etc. On the occasion of his 80th birthday, he could be heard in all the parts of the world.
The focus of his extensive repertoire (he has made more than 200 recordings) is on works by Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert. Paul Badura-Skoda holds honorary doctorates from the Academy of Music and Performing Art in Mannheim (2006), the Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru (2010) and the Akademii Muzycznej w Krakowie - Academy of Music in Cracow (2013).
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Fantasie in c-Moll, KV 475 11:02   2.39€
  Sonate Nr. 14 in c-Moll, KV 457        
2     (I) Molto allegro 8:07   1.59€
3 (II) Adagio 6:31   1.59€
4 (III) Allegro assai 4:40   0.99€
5 Fantasie in d-Moll, KV 397 5:14   1.59€
6 Adagio in h-Moll, KV 540 8:27   1.59€
  Sonate Nr. 18 in D-Dur, KV 576        
7     (I) Allegro 5:07   1.59€
8 (II) Adagio 4:33   0.99€
9 (III) Allegretto 4:24   0.99€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label of the month

Fantasie KV 475, 397/Sonate KV 457, 576
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Paul Badura-Skoda

GRAMOLA, 1 CD

Veröffentlichungsdatum: 01.06.2014

Artikel ist sofort lieferbar.

€ 17,90


Download: 14,99 € WAV
Download: 9,99 € MP3

 

Fantasie KV 475, 397/Sonate KV 457, 576

Der zweite Teil der jüngsten Mozart-Trilogie von Pianist und Ehrendoktor Paul Badura-Skoda auf dem historischen Hammerflügel von Anton Walter (1790) steht ganz im Zeichen der Tragik. Scheinbar losgelöst vom Gipfel seines äußeren Erfolges in Wien (um 1784) deutet sich mit der in selbigem Jahr komponierten Sonate c-Moll KV 457 eine neue Epoche in Mozarts Leben an, jene innere und äußere Tragödie, die dazu führte, dass er schließlich im Elend gestorben ist. In die Reihe der tragischen Moll-Werke der Wiener Jahre Mozarts, die mit dem unvollendeten Requiem 1791 ihren Abschluß fand, fallen auch die Fantasien c-Moll KV 475 und d-Moll KV 397 sowie das verhalten ergreifende Adagio h-Moll KV 540: klagende, bedrohende, aber auch Mozart-typisch verklärte und versöhnliche Töne - unter Tränen lächelnd. Seine letzte Klaviersonate D-Dur KV 576 wiederum verbindet heitere Eleganz mit polyphoner Satztiefe und überstrahlt einem Satyrspiel gleich die vorangeganene Düsternis.

Paul Badura-Skoda
Der Gewinn des österreichischen Musikwettbewerbs 1947 stand am Beginn seiner Karriere. Sein Lehrer war Edwin Fischer. Seit 1949 trat er mit bedeutenden Dirigenten wie Wilhelm Furtwängler und Herbert von Karajan auf. Es folgten große Tourneen als Klaviersolist: 1952 Australien, 1952/53 USA - Kanada, 1953 Lateinamerika von Mexiko bis Argentinien, 1956 leitete er als Dirigent eines Kammerorchesters der Wiener Symphoniker eine Tournee durch Italien.
Weitere Höhepunkte seiner Laufbahn waren die erste Japantournee 1959/60, wo er allein in Tokio 14 mal auftrat, und die erste überaus erfolgreiche Tournee durch die damalige Sowjetunion 1964, der viele weitere Tourneen folgten. 1979 war Paul Badura-Skoda der erste westliche Pianist, der nach der Kulturrevolution in China spielte. Im Mozartjahr 1991 spielte er den Zyklus aller Mozartsonaten u. a. in Paris, Wien, München, Madrid, Tokio, Hongkong. Anläßlich seines 80. Geburtstags war er in allen Weltteilen zu hören.
Schwerpunkt seines umfangreichen Repertoires (von ihm existieren mehr als 200 Einspielungen) sind Werke von Mozart, Beethoven und Schubert. Paul Badura-Skoda ist Ehrendoktor der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Mannheim (2006), der Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru (2010) sowie der Akademii Muzycznej w Krakowie - Academy of Music in Krakow (2013).
   
     
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1 1 Fantasie in c-Moll, KV 475 11:02   2,39€
  Sonate Nr. 14 in c-Moll, KV 457        
2     (I) Molto allegro 8:07   1,59€
3 (II) Adagio 6:31   1,59€
4 (III) Allegro assai 4:40   0,99€
5 Fantasie in d-Moll, KV 397 5:14   1,59€
6 Adagio in h-Moll, KV 540 8:27   1,59€
  Sonate Nr. 18 in D-Dur, KV 576        
7     (I) Allegro 5:07   1,59€
8 (II) Adagio 4:33   0,99€
9 (III) Allegretto 4:24   0,99€
 

Labels

Empfehlungen & Angebote

Label der Woche