Mozart / Poulenc / Garson
Wilfried Gottwald / Friends


Releasedate: 22.02.2012

Item is in stock.

€ 19.90



With this recording, the versatile Autrian clarinetist Wilfried Gottwald traces a wide arc from W. A. Mozart up to jazz. The Clarinet Concerto in A major KV 622 is here presented for the first time in an arrangement for clarinet and string quartet. Besides this classic of the clarinet repertoire, you can also hear the Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, a late work by Francis Poulenc, whose world premiere by the exceptionally gifted jazz clarinetist and Leonard Bernstein almost provides this CD with a programmatic pointer. In classical jazz trio instrumentation, i.e. together with piano and double bass, Wilfried Gottwald, a long-standing member of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra impressively shows with Mike Garson's Jazz Variations on a Theme of Paganini, his Ballad and the Jazz Etude that this genre is often closer to classical music than imagined and that he feels equally at home in both.
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1   Konzert für Klarinette und Orches…        
1     (I) Allegro 12:17    
2 (II) Adagio 7:17    
3 (III) Rondo:Allegro 9:04    
  Sonate für Klarinette und Klavier…        
4     (I) Allegro tristam… 6:08    
5 (II) Romanza 5:53    
6 (III) Allegro con fuoco 3:38    
  Jazz Variations, Ballade und Jazz…        
7     (I) Jazz Variations… 3:12    
8 (II) Ballad 5:00    
9 (III) Jazz Etude 1:57    


Empfehlungen & Angebote

Error: [error.MicroContentNotValid]