Bilder einer Ausstellung/Sonate 8/Klaviermusik
Mussorgsky / Prokofiev / Tschaikowsky / Liapunov
Michael Korstick


Releasedate: 14.09.2015

Item is in stock.

€ 19.90

Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3


Bilder einer Ausstellung/Sonate 8/Klaviermusik

Michael Korstick ranks among the most important German pianists of our time. His playing is documented on numerous award-winning CDs which bear witness to the enormous breadth of his repertoire. The recording now being released by Gramola features Russian piano music from the 19th and 20th century. The piano cycle Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky can rightly be viewed as one of the most well-known works for piano, not least due to the immense number of later orchestrations (most notably by Maurice Ravel). Following up on the programmatic nature of musical pictures is the Doumka (Scène rustique russe) in C minor, Op. 59 by Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky as well as the Caucasian Lesghinka by Sergej Lyapunow, who alike portray traditional Russian themes and musical motifs in many of their compositions. Less tangible in extra-musical content appears the Sonata for piano No. 8 in B flat major Op. 84 by Sergej Prokofiev, having been composed during the years of World War II from 1939-1944.

Michael Korstick
Born in Cologne, Michael Korstick received his first piano lessons at the age of 9 and later studied with Jürgen Tröster in Cologne and with Hans Leygraf in Hanover. He attended the master class held by Tatjana Nikolaieva in Moscow and completed his studies with Sascha Gorodnitzki at the Juilliard School in 1983. In subsequent years, Korstick has been awarded prizes and honours, including at the Beethoven Competition in Vienna, the Reina Sofia Competition in Madrid, the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and the International Music Competition in Montréal. In 1992, he conducted the Chilean premiere of the Piano Concerto by Samuel Barber. Further concerts and tours have taken him to Mexico, Korea, Andalusia and Morocco. On the occasion of the festivities for Claudio Arrau’s 100th birthday, he performed a Beethoven cycle in Santiago de Chile in 2003. For his CD recordings, which have received excellent reviews in music magazines and journals, he has been awarded the ‘Echo Klassik Prize’, the Prize of German Record Critics several times and the MIDEM Classical Award.
Critics point out that the characteristic feature of his playing is the astonishing balance between brilliant virtuosity and musical intensity, reconciling strong individuality with uncompromising fidelity to the score.
CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1   Bilder einer Ausstellung        
1     1. Promenade 1:29   0.99€
2 2. I. Gnomus 2:15   0.99€
3 3. Promenade 0:54   0.99€
4 4. II. Il vecchio castello 4:50   0.99€
5 5. Promenade 0:30   0.99€
6 6. III. Les Tuileries. Dispute d'… 1:00   0.99€
7 7. IV. Bydlo 2:54   0.99€
8 8. Promenade 0:46   0.99€
9 9. V. Ballet des poussins dans le… 1:04   0.99€
10 10. VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Sch… 2:19   0.99€
11 11. VII. Limoges. Le marche 1:20   0.99€
12 12. VIIIa. Catacombae. Sepulcrum… 1:54   0.99€
13 13. VIIIb. Cum mortuis in lingua… 2:01   0.99€
14 14. IX. La cabane sur des pattes… 3:14   0.99€
15 15. X. La grande porte de Kiev 4:50   0.99€
16 Tschaikowsyk: Doumka, Dumka c-Mol… 8:34   1.59€
17 Lyapunov: Lesghinka 8:01   1.59€
  Prokofieff: Sonate für Klavier Nr…        
18     1. Andante 15:41   3.19€
19 2. Andante sognando 4:44   0.99€
20 3. Vivace 10:00   2.39€


Empfehlungen & Angebote

Error: [error.MicroContentNotValid]