Rimsky-Korssakoff / Strawinsky
Kaspar / ORF RSO Wien / Salomon / Irnberger


Releasedate: 30.12.2020

Item is in stock.

€ 21.90

Download: 14.99 € WAV
Download: 9.99 € MP3



The established Salzburg violinist Thomas Albertus Irnberger has already played with the greatest musical personalities and leading ensembles of our time such as the Royal Philhamonic Orchestra (violin concertos by Beethoven and Elgar). For his most recent recording featuring the Violin Concerto in D by Igor Stravinsky, the versatile virtuoso Irnberger can refer to the collaboration with another world-class orchestra: the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Doron Salomon. In addition to this work from 1931, the Concert Fantasy on Russian themes in B minor Op. 33 by Stravinsky's teacher Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov is included on this album. Together with Paul Ka?par, piano, with whom he shares a long artistic collaboration, Irnberger also interprets Stravinsky's Suite Italienne, the Duo concertant for violin and piano as well as the Danse russe (Petrushka) and Chanson russe (Mavra), borrowed from stage works.

Thomas Albertus Irnberger, who was born in Salzburg in 1985, is among Austria's leading violinists. At the age of 15 in the Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels he celebrated a debut that attracted widespread attention, and ever since is performing as a soloist and chamber musician in major concert halls in Europe, Israel and in Asia. His more than 40 recordings have regularly been the recipients of prizes and top rankings from the international press. His regular chamber music partners include such noted figures as Paul Badura-Skoda, Jörg Demus, Michael Korstick, David Geringas, Barbara Moser, Pavel Ka?par and Edoardo Torbianelli. Since 2008 Thomas Albertus Irnberger has devoted himself to research into and the rediscovery of "ostracised composers" and in Israel he played the first performance of the violin concerto by Hans Gál. The ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra is a top orchestra of world renown; it defines itself in the Vienna orchestral tradition. Marin Alsop took over as Chief Conductor in September 2019. The Vienna RSO is known for its exceptional, bold programming.

The Vienna RSO regularly performs in two subscription series in Vienna, in the Musikverein and the Konzerthaus. In addition, it appears every year at major Austrian and international festivals. The orchestra has close ties to the Salzburg Festival, musikprotokoll im steirischen herbst and Wien Modern. Tours to Japan and China are a regular part of the Vienna RSO schedule as well. The orchestra has also played concerts in Thailand and Taiwan as well as the USA, South America and Germany

Doron Salomon, born in Israel where, at an early age, he began his musical education in the study of piano, French horn and guitar, was 1974 awarded a scholarship by the American-Israeli Cultural Foundation for studies overseas. He studied at the Royal College of Music in London, specializing in conducting, composition and classical guitar. He completed the course in conducting at the Royal College with distinction, having won the Sir Adrian Boult Conducting Prize, as well as the Sir Theodor Stier Prize. Salomon has been appointed Musical Director of ensembles such as Gavleborgs Symphony Orchestra, Israel Kibbutz Chamber Orchestra, Macedonia Philharmonic Orchestra, Vogtland Philharmonie in Germany and the Israel Sinfonietta Beer Sheva. Paul Kaspar studied with Prof. Rudolf Macudzinski in Bratislava, Prof. Frantisek Rauch in Prague and then with Prof. Ludwig Hoffmann in Munich. The Czech pianist holds regular concerts throughout Europe, Israel, Turkey, China, Mexico, the USA and Canada. His CD with piano works by Ludwig van Beethoven and Joseph Haydn was released by Artesmon in 2010 and the same year another CD with the Czech flautist Roman Novotny with works by Francis Poulenc, Bohuslav Martinu, Darius Milhaud and Francois Born. For the Swiss label Tudor, Pavel Kaspar recorded the piano works by Bohuslav Martinu on four CDs, earning the very best reviews from the international press.

CD Track Titel Dauer Komponist PLAY
1   Stravinsky: Konzert für Violine u…        
1     I Toccata 5:43   1.59€
2 II Aria I 4:21   0.99€
3 III Aria II 6:40   1.59€
4 IV Capriccio 6:06   1.59€
  Stravinsky: Suite italienne für V…        
5     I Introduzione. All… 2:10   0.99€
6 II Serenata. Larghetto 3:25   0.99€
7 III Tarantella. Vivace 2:13   0.99€
8 IV Gavotta con due variazioni 3:30   0.99€
9 V Scherzino. Presto alla breve 1:28   0.99€
10 VI Minuetto e fi nale. Moderato -… 4:22   0.99€
11 Stravinsky: Danse russe 2:53   0.99€
12 Stravinsky: Chanson russe. Russia… 4:07   0.99€
  Stravinsky: Duo Concertant für V…        
13     I Cantilene 3:20   0.99€
14 II Eglogue I 2:37   0.99€
15 III Eglogue II 2:49   0.99€
16 IV Gigue 4:26   0.99€
17 V Dithyrambe 2:51   0.99€
  Rimsky-Korsakov: Konzertfantasie…        
18     Introduction. Alleg… 13:39   2.39€


Empfehlungen & Angebote

Error: [error.MicroContentNotValid]